Book Worm // All the Light We Cannot See: A Novel

Just a few of my favorites (except that Golf for Dummies… that’s all my husband… my golf swing is practically perfection).

I’ve always loved to read. Some of my earliest memories are of sitting on my grandmother’s lap, listening to her move through a rotation of Golden books, or going with my other grandmother to the local library, piling my arms high with more books than a 6-year-old can feasibly read in a week. Those two ladies taught me much about life, but what I always thank them for the most is instilling a love of reading that has stuck with me throughout my life. Reading is my safe spot. When I want to feel the most at ease, I know I can lose myself in a really good book. The rest of the world washes away, and the story that I’m reading is the only thing that I am fully aware of in that moment. Every once in awhile, I’ll come across a book that is so good, so well-written, that it plays out like a movie in my own mind. It’s hard to tear myself away from, and when I’m finished with it, it sticks with me for days. I recently finished a book that did just that: All the Light We Cannot See: A Novel by Anthony Doerr.

bw-books0506011398884710

The masterpiece.

If you haven’t read it, go right now, to your local book store or even Target, and BUY IT. I’ll wait right here while you do yourself that favor. Go on.

Ok. Got it? Good. Now sit yourself in a spot where you can’t be interrupted for a good week and just read. Read until your heart is so full of this amazing story with it’s spectacular way of stringing words together and creating a story so full of rich, realistic characters and spellbinding plot lines. Read until you’ve finished the book and your heart hurts and you’re aching for more because Doerr has woven a story so intriguing that you won’t ever want it to end.

At least, that’s how I felt. I won’t go in to too much detail about what the actual story is like, because it’s one of those books that you just have to see for yourself. Doerr’s website has a great breakdown of the story, so check that out here if you want to know more about it. If you’re interested in historical / period pieces (this one is set during WWII, but flashes back and forward quite a bit), and you like extrordinary writing, this is a worthwhile read.

If you’ve read it already, let me know what you thought. I think the Booklist perfectly summed it for me with this simple review: “A novel to live in, learn from, and feel bereft over when the last page is turned.” Yup, you got me there.

KT

Leave a Reply

